Love One Another

IMG_9789.JPG
I know I rarely talk about political stuff here but In light of the Supreme Court ruling today affirming that all citizens have the right to marry the person of their choice I am buckling up for the resulting firestorm to erupt.

All the moaning and hand throwing and railing against the decision will be fierce and probably ugly.

Adam and Eve not Adam and Steve……(seriously they really need a new slogan)
It’s a SIN the bible says so…..
Hate the sin but love the sinner…..

Among others.

Is homosexuality a sin? Here is my answer.

It is a moot point.

To God all sin is the same. There aren’t great big huge sins and little tiny baby sins.

But…..but…..but….I can hear many people saying. Of course there are bigger sins…,like murder or homosexuality. You know sins that other people do.

I just do little stuff like gossip and yell at people in traffic. And maybe ignore the homeless guy on the corner. And occasionally have too much to drink. You know little stuff.

I hate to be the bearer of good news but all sin is sin. And the price for all sins have been paid by Jesus Christ.

All sins.

Not just yours or the “not so bad” sins. Every single sin. God loves you and forgives you. And that grace is given to everyone. Everyone.

Everyone. Without exception.

So…..is homosexuality a sin? It doesn’t matter.

What does matter is that I am a sinner. I sin every day by things I have done and things I have left undone. I have not loved God with all my heart. I have not loved my neighbor as myself.

While spending so much energy pointing out other people’s (clearly much bigger) sins we shift the focus from where it should be. In ourselves and our relationship with God.

Love one another is the greatest commandment. As Christians anything we do that tells people that they aren’t good enough for God right this minute and right where they are is wrong. God loves and forgives you. He forgives you for being a sinner. The end.

The Supreme Court was right. All Americans have the right to have a life with whoever they choose. Let’s move on to what is important. Loving one another. #lovewins

IMG_9790.PNG

IMG_9903.JPG

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

