Well, At Least We Can Say It’s A Short Work Week

Year’s end is neither an end nor a beginning but a going on, with all the wisdom that experience can instill in us. ~Hal Borland

Our Friday night contained some sad news.  Ed’s kids Grandfather passed away after a long illness.  While not unexpected it was still very upsetting for everyone.  Derrick and Amanda were already on their way home when it happened.

While there is little that I can do to help I did watch the kids Saturday so they could go to the funeral home and make arrangements.  It was nice to keep Guilianna and David even if they ran me ragged.  David was very, very interested in the treadmill and insisted on climbing on it and bouncing on it and sitting on it.  And occasionally falling off of it.

David finally crashed and Giulianna and I took a trip to Wal-Mart so we could buy the ‘Bedo Bedo’ movie (Despicable Me II) and of course on the 2 minute trip home the back seat suddenly grew unnaturally quiet.  Yep, she crashed and burned on the short drive home.  But I got her inside and into our bed and they slept away until Mom came to take them home.

20131228-200736.jpg 20131228-200758.jpg 20131228-200722.jpg 20131228-200659.jpg

20131228-200640.jpg20131230-180838.jpg

Vanessa sent me texts on about Midnight to tell me that Guili said she had a great time with us!  We had a great time with her too.

Saturday evening Derrick and Amanda made it safely back to Corpus and we spent the rest of the evening relaxing.  Sunday was spent pretty much the same way only I  helped with downloading some music and burning and CD for the visitation.

Moving onto some lighter news.  While I kept the kids on Saturday Edward too my Christmas gift to the store to be activated.  I’m the proud owner of an iPhone 5S.  My good old 4S has been on its last leg for a several months now but I limped along.  Edward was pretty proud that he  got me the Gold one. To be fair I did tell him I wanted yellow gold.

20131229-174522.jpg 20131229-173946.jpg

It’s still an iPhone with the same operating system my old one had so I don’t see very many changes.  I do think that the fingerprint for the password is super cool though!  Instead of having to type a passcode I just saved my fingerprint and use that.  That’s awesome!!!!!

So my old phone I’ll keep for the grands to use for games and such.  As long as it’s connected to wifi many of them still work so hopefully I can keep Angry Birds off this phone for a couple of weeks

.20131229-224308.jpg

We did go to the movies last evening so the weekend wasn’t a total wash.  We saw ‘Grudge Match’ and (to my surprise) it was a pretty good movie.  I laughed and enjoyed myself!  And it was good to get out of the house to do something I guess.  Although sleeping in, taking naps and over all relaxing was a pretty awesome way to spend the weekend.  And Edward got to play with his iPad a bunch too.  Pretty cool!   I’m getting my tablet in a few weeks but for now I’m pretty happy with my phone.

A cold front came in over night……BRRRRRRR again………We are short staffed at work with my boss out of town so it most likely will be a busy one.  Thank goodness the weekend wasn’t too bad because that really wears me out.  Time to get working since I can’t work late tonight.

Have a great Monday everyone.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

