Hello November!

“When the trees their summer splendor
Change to raiment red and gold,
When the summer moon turns mellow,
And the nights are getting cold;
When the squirrels hide their acorns,
And the woodchucks disappear;
Then we know that it is autumn,
Loveliest season of the year.”
–   Carol L. Riser, Autumn

IMG_0043Of course November here in South Texas is a bit different than it is for most of the country.  Down here most days are still lovely although we will have a few chilly days.  And we don’t really have trees that change colors of course.  But it is still a pretty month.  We are on the downhill side of football season with next Friday the last Friday night game of the season and then just a few more weeks for CCYFL to be over.  Then we will have our weekends back!  Of course it will also be the holidays but still……….

Last Friday started off on a pretty good note, I scored a bonus check at work.  Bonus checks don’t arrive on any schedule and with no notice so it’s always a very pleasant surprise when I get one.  🙂   The money is nice but it’s also nice to know that people recognize the hard work that I do.

I left work exactly at 5 and drove home so I could go with Edward to his football game in Rivera.  On the way there we saw lots of showers and drove through some but by the time we got to the stadium they had all moved off to the East.  Well, at least we thought they had until it started to pour again.  And pour hard.

I got soaked!  Completely soaked and wet and cold.    So I spent the second half of the game in the truck talking to a dear, smart, brave friend while having a cocktail.

20131103-114519.jpg

I will say that the time flew by and before I knew it Edward was climbing in and we were heading home.

Saturday morning was another early one for football.  After I dropped everyone off at the game I spent the day running around doing errands, cleaning house and laundry.   Those of you who  know me know that my most hated household chore is cleaning out the fridge and I even did that!  Not a fun way to spend the day but it sure felt good that it was all done.  Well, I did bake a pumpkin cake with cream cheese frosting and that was kind of fun.

 I had the cats keeping me company of course.  Mommacat just loves warm clothes from the dryer.  She refused to let me fold this batch until they had cooled off completly.

20131103-114245.jpg

Then I looked around the room and it was obviously kitty nap time.  Rascal and Socks on the floor and Momma on the sofa.   Snowball was in the bedroom and I have no idea where Spooky was.  It was probably a good thing that Spooky was under the bed of where ever because she  HATES Socks.  A lot.  I wish I knew what makes her decide she likes or hates another cat because it would make life a lot easier.  She loves Mommacat, tolerates Rascal, Snowball and Whitey but HATES Socks and Smallz.  Hmmmmm….maybe she doesn’t like anyone whose name starts with the same letter as hers.  20131103-114154.jpg

And once football was over and Edward cleaned up we went to Kiko’s Mexican for dinner.  That’s how much Edward loves me that he will take me out to eat at someplace he isn’t even fond of!  I can get him to go once or twice a year.  Ed’s daughter even commented that she saw that we were there on FaceBook and couldn’t believe he went.

 I love the change back to standard time.  (Not such a fan in the evenings though)  So it felt like I slept in very late even though Sunday morning was the monthly bridge walk.  Vanessa earned her shirt this time!!  It was a cool morning but perfect for walking!

20131103-114344.jpg

Quite honestly I wasn’t sure I was going to make it this time.  The last couple of weeks my left knee has been giving me a lot of trouble with stiffness, pain and even some swelling thrown in  for good measure.  It had felt almost completely normal the last few days but on Saturday evening getting out of the truck somehow I tweeked it and was hurting again.  Every time I was up Saturday night it still hurt.  Thank goodness it felt ok when I finally got up and it made it through the walk just fine.

Sunday afternoon we relaxed until going to the movies to see “Gravity”.  Excellent movie and if you look a little deeper an excellent metaphor for grief.  Really powerful.  I did also decide that I never want to go to outerspace but that probably isn’t a surprise.

That’s about it for the weekend.  Even with the extra hour it went by too fast. 😦   But one more night to snuggle with my babe before we start the work week.  Have a great Monday everyone!

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Hello November!

  1. Kicky

    Imagine passing the time on the phone… wait until our next visit. It will fly by.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

