Now It’s July

Where oh where is the summer going?  It seems like just last week it was Memorial Day and now we are past 4th of July and fast on way to Labor Day.  Edward tells me that we have been to the beach seven times so far this summer……………and lots of more weeks to go!

???????????????????????????????We have been busy going to the beach, seeing movies, and keeping up with everything else going on in our lives.  I’ll try to play a little catch of the highpoints in no particular order.

Derrick is changing duty stations from San Diego to Norfolk VA so they were home for several weeks during the transition.  It was nice to get to see them.  We had dinner with them and a fun family beach day for Ed’s birthday and Father’s Day.   It was a pretty day and the kids ran all of us ragged!IMG_0223 IMG_0231 ??????????????????????????????? IMG_0216 IMG_0209 IMG_0208 IMG_0200 IMG_0194 143_0359 143_0345 143_0341 143_0336

Hasn’t baby David gotten so big?????   He has two teeth and it working hard on crawling and pulling himself up.  He was perfectly happy to hang out in the travel crib most of the day although Snickers (Derrick and Amanda’s dog) was a little jealous that the baby had someplace clean out of the sand to hang out while he had to get all dirty.

I am still one of Giuli’s favorite people in the world and she wouldn’t let me go anywhere without her.  I spent all day playing with her in the surf and was exhausted when we got home.

Another weekend we had Lilly spend the night with us so we could go to the movies.  We took her to see Monsters University then out for dinner and home to bed.  We went to bed early because the first turtle release of the season was the next morning we rolled Lilly out of bed at 5 am to make our way to the National Seashore before dawn.

It was our first time seeing the turtle release and it was too cool!!   Ed pointed out that the grown ups seemed even more excited about it then the kids did.  I think that’s because as adults we understand why it’s important and how these turtles are different from one’s at the pet store.

??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? IMG_0056 IMG_0059x IMG_0062 IMG_0064 ??????????????????????????????? IMG_0073 IMG_0097 ??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? IMG_0124 IMG_0138 ??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????After the turtles all made it to the water we came back to town for breakfast and then home.  By 11 am Lilly was laying down in the guest room watching TV and she crashed and crashed hard!   She slept all afternoon until we finally had to wake her up so she could go home because they had dinner plans that night.

I want to have Lilly take us to Despicable Me II next!!!!

IMG_3651

In other news my hair is getting ‘long’.  Well, long for me anyway, almost getting to the bottom of my ears.   Only another 6 months or so and it will actually be where I want it be!   Its been a long 7 months or so and I almost gave up a couple of times but I hung in there.

The biggest downside is that when it’s super short I can style it in about 60 seconds.  Now its taking me 10 minutes or so every morning.  But I’m starting to believe I will get it to the style I want it to be………..eventually.

We had a quiet 4th of July at the beach.   I had just wrapped up one of our crazy work weeks that come a few times a year with a ton of over time so I was beyond exhausted.  In fact I came home from work on Wednesday night too tired to move.  Edward asked me to go to a couple of places for errands with him and I just physically couldn’t do it.

So he left and I laid down on the sofa and crashed.  90 minutes later he came home and I felt a bit better.   We (and by ‘we’ I mean Edward) loaded the truck for the beach on Wednesday night so we ate breakfast and headed out before the crowds.  Where we generally go it wasn’t too crowded.  A couple of times a year we get a day when the beach is beyond gorgeous and by some stroke of luck the 4th was one of those days for us.  The seaweed was virtually gone, the jelly fish that had been in abundance the weekend before had left, the surf was almost flat and it looked as blue as the Caribbean!  It was an awesome day until some high clouds rolled in later in the afternoon.

??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? IMG_0036 ???????????????????????????????

I think that’s the highpoints of what we have been up to the last month or so.  We will be in Garner at the end of this month and then we will be in full on countdown mode to our vacation at the end of August!  Can’t wait!!!!!!

Have a great week everyone!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

