Aye Yi Yi What A Busy Weekend……..

photo (30)I swear on all that is holy I posted this blog last night.  Sigh…..stupid Word Press…..

The last several weekends Edward and I have spent quietly at home.  This was NOT one of those weekends.  Somehow the cosmic star aligned and almost everything that we wanted to see, do or experience all happened in one weekend.  And we did everything……..except rest and clean house of course.

Saturday morning we woke up to a windy, humid and cloudy morning and a coffee pot that was dead.  If you have ever been at our house in the morning I’m sure you can imagine what a nightmare scenario that was.  I was dispatched to Stripes for coffee and while I was there just got breakfast taco.  Needless to say stop  #1 was Walmart for a new coffee maker.  Stop #2 was Goliad Tx for their Goliad Market Days.   Held the second Saturday of the month the courthouse square is filled with vendors selling everything from home made cakes to jewlery.    If you are looking to something you can probably find it at Market Days.  photo (33)photo (34)

The wind made it feel almost chilly but we headed out to do some shopping anyway.  It was a lot of fun looking at all of the items and deciding what we were going to buy.   We got a new stand for our yard flags, a couple of items for the babies, a new Scentier and candle, a ceiling fan pull and my honey even bought me the perfect ring!photo990

It felt like quite a workout as we spent a few hours seeing everying that there was to see.  On the way out we even saw the first bluebonnets of the season!  YAY for spring wildflowers!

After we walked past every booth we were starving!  Edward wanted to take me to a restaurant in Refugio that he had been too a month or so ago for work called “The Gumbo”.  Most of you know how excited I am about seafood under most circumstances but I was willing to give it a try.  Boy am I glad that I did.

They don’t just serve seafood, but also Mexican food.  Since I had quite a chill after our walk around Market Days we started with a cup of tortilla soup that was fabulous.  Everyone makes tortilla soup a bit differently but I really enjoyed this one.  It made me wish that I had just ordered the big bowl for my lunch!

But I also got broiled shrimp kabobs.  Often broiled or grilled shrimp can taste a little bland but not here.  The shrimp had wonderful full flavor that was a treat to eat.  I ate every single shrimp on my plate quite happily!  Edward got the chicken and shrimp plate and said his food was also very good.

Then it was off to one of the highlight events of our year.  The Texas Independence Wine Classic.  This was their third year and we have gone every year.  In fact, this was the first wine tasting we every went too and introduced us to some of our favorite Texas vineyards so  it holds a special place in our hearts.  (and wallets)    We ran into some old friends we hadn’t seen in a while, tasted several new wines that we enjoyed….including a couple of reds that I even liked.  **Gasp**20130310-215309.jpgWe ran into some old friends we hadn’t seen in a while and spent a few hours enjoying the music, wine and afternoon.

Sunday morning I got up early and found that our cold front hadn’t arrived yet.   But I could tell it was close, there was a little rain and not a breath of wind.  I went back to bed to snuggle for a while and realized that it was getting darker and darker out.  The cold front was here and with it a couple of wet and pretty annoyed cats!

But by the time we finished breakfast the rain had moved out leaving rapidly clearing skies and the promise of a lovely day.  I took advantage of a spare two seconds in the weekend to squeeze in a nice walk before it was time to head for Rockport to see a couple of our friends in The Rockport Little Theater’s production of “The Sensuous Senator”.

What a fun afternoon!  It was a wonderfully done, hysterically funny play.  We laughed and laughed and laughed.  My face hurt when it was time to go home.

photo (37)If you happen to be around Rockport the next couple of weekends make time to go and see this play!  Veronica, I mean Susan was wonderful!

So there you have it……a fun, busy, exciting, excellent weekend filled with fun and laughter.  And wine…..mmmmmmmmm.  Now just to wrap up a few more days and we can head for Hill Country for another quiet weekend.  Just the two of us.  And I can’t wait!

Have a great week everyone!

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

