Hot Days In July

I hope that everyone had a great weekend. We really did. We went into the weekend without any plans but someone managed to fill it all up with plenty of activity. It was scorching hot and humid the whole weekend and now that we have had some rain the mosquitos are back. Ickyyyyyyyyyy.

We decided that Saturday would be a perfect day to go to the beach just the two of us. Between us last week was a tough week emotionally for me for a whole bunch of reasons and I was kind of wrung out. I looked forward to getting to go to the beach just the two of us and Saturdays are perfect to beach days because we can stay out as late as we want.

When we rounded the corner to see the gulf we both gasped in joy. The water was a spectacular turqoise blue and there were hardly any waves. I couldn’t wait to get into the water. I felt like we had turned the corner to the Carribean instead of just a few miles from home. Added bonus was that the winds were light for a good part of the day.

It was without a doubt the prettiest beach day we have had all year and it’s going to be hard for any other day to beat it. It was also very crowded but we drove far enough that we had a nice large spot all to ourselves.

The mullet were running in the waves again by the thousands and about a million little tiny guppy type fish. Edward and I were in the water and we could feel them bouncing off us and hitting us right and left. After one swimming session I was rinsing off and found one in my bottoms……EWWWWWWWWWWWW.

Edward nicely said that I caught the biggest fish of the day. Yep I did!!!

It was the perfect day for the two of us. We both really relaxed!!! We stayed until after sunset and while we hated to go home it was time. 😦

Sunday was catch up on chores at home and Edward made sure to wake me up at dawn so we could get started. There is always a lot of stuff to do and try to get caught up on. It was a super hot day…………..muggy and miserable. But since we had all day we could take lenty of breaks.

Edward had decided to cancel the first half of his out of town trip for this next week even before he knew Derrick and Amanda were going to be here so he thought we should have them over for dinner tonight. I made some memory books from the 4th of July and I wanted to make sure they had their copy before they left. So (after a bottle of wine) I went to the grocery store last evening to get everything I needed for a dinner party tonight.

(Sidenote: I really shouldn’t ever be allowed in a grocery store after a bottle of wine……………………………)

Anyway I have a pot roast going, wine chilling and the table is even set. I’m looking forward to a nice evening.

Have a wonderful Monday everyone!!!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

