Couldn’t Have Had A Better Weekend!

Happiness held is the seed; happiness shared is the flower.  ~Author Unknown

What a busy and productive weekend we had.   I wish we had a few more days to recover but now it’s back to the grind.

Friday evening Edward and I took advantage of a free evening and went to the movies to see ‘Act Of Valor’.  Edward ranks movies with a romance scale…….the more shooting and blood the more ‘romantic’ a movie.  Well, this was one SUPER romantic movie.   It was really good……seemed to be over in a flash.  (and no matter what he says I did NOT cry)

We woke up during the night to rain on the windows………Saturday morning was not a pretty day.  We got almost 7/10th of an inch of rain at our house and it was a cold, cold rain.  All the cats were outside when it started and we had three pretty unhappy cats when Edward got up and let them back in.  It’s still nice to wake up to rain after all those months of drought.  The rain stopped around 9 am and it actually turned out to be a pretty nice day.

Edward went off to his part-time job and I hurried to get all the housework complete before the girls arrived.  And arrive they did shortly after noon………..and neither of them stopped for a second the whole time they were here. 

Giulianna tried to cry and guilt her mom into not leaving but about the time the door closed behind Vanessa it was like Guili figured out that she wasn’t going to stay and she stopped crying.  Lilly loves to play with all our old wine corks and now Guili liked to play with them too.  I’m not sure it is the best toy for a baby but she didn’t want to play with much else.

We had macaroni and cheese for lunch.  One thing that Guili is is a good eater…….even Lilly ate well.  (  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WDrkiWY6ZAM&list=UUJ3IAWvwBO9mTCwmmp_bjSA&index=3&feature=plcp  ) Then we watched movies, read books and played.  We only lost one ceramic item to a tragic baby mishap.  (Amy didn’t baby proof quite quick enough)

I downloaded a book for Lilly onto my Kindle Fire and she really liked playing with it.  But then I turned my back for a couple of seconds and suddenly she had managed to buy a couple of other books………lol.  (I don’t even consider Barbie books good books) but she liked it.  She also played Angry Birds for quite a while.

Guili likes to pull her socks off.  She was sitting on my lap and I realized there was a sock missing.  I said “Giuli where is your sock?” and she looked at me and reached down next to me and picked it up.  What a brilliant girl!!!!!

 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QMlSiYRZvOc&list=UUJ3IAWvwBO9mTCwmmp_bjSA&index=2&feature=plcp

The cats usually run for the hills the minute the girls pull into the driveway but for whatever reason MommaCat actually stayed in the room most of the day and slept in the basket.  At one point Guili was sitting on the floor and Rascal came up and sat next too her.  I could tell by the look in his eyes that he was thinking………’this one is small and slow, I can take her’.  At that second he turned and lunged at her in attack mode while I was reaching down to shoo him away.  Fortunately, he never bites of scratches……..he just kind of jumped on top of her like she was a gazelle.  Guili wasn’t even scared…..she just looked at him like he was crazy.

Mom came and picked them up about 6:30 and the only thing I wanted at that point was a nap…….and I managed to squeeze in a short nap before Edward came home from work.   Once he got home we ate a quick dinner and headed to Politics to help celebrate a friend’s birthday.  A fun evening with lots of drinks and MMA fights.  (I swear they fight every single weekend.)  We had fun and stayed up a little late.   Always fun to go out with friends!

Edward told me on Saturday that he had decided to give his two-week notice at his part-time weekend job……and I couldn’t have been happier.  He had been bothered by a few things and he said he hated that the girls were at the house all afternoon with me and he didn’t get to see them and that we have had to miss so many of Little Edward’s baseball tournaments.  It’s time to free up our schedule.  I’m delighted that we won’t have to work out weekend plans around it anymore!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!   Soooooo happy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

He went to work Sunday and I started to get all the errands finished .  I had just gotten home from the grocery store about 3 pm when I heard the truck pull into the driveway.  He waltzed in the front door announcing……..”Honey, I’m unemployed!”  Apparently he and the owner had decided if he was quitting that he could be done.    He thought that might be the case.  So we got to have a pleasant surprise Sunday afternoon at home.  Lots of errands are complete, the menu is planned for the week and laundry is done.  We are ready to take on the week!

A week where Edward isn’t working any night…….woohooooooo!!!!!

When I was driving to the store it was amazing how many flowers are starting to bloom……I saw a post online that someone out in West Texas had seen the first blue bonnet of the year so they are coming!!!  People who know about these things are predicting a banner year for blue bonnets and now with free weekends we can go and take lots and lots of pictures of them!!!!!

Ok, time to get going………busy week with lots to do.  Have a great Monday everyone!

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Couldn’t Have Had A Better Weekend!

  1. Kicky

    Rascal came up and sat next to her. I could tell by the look in his eyes that he was thinking………’this one is small and slow, I can take her’.

    Funny, that was how I felt Rascal thought about me on my last visit.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

