What a Way To Start 2012

Not exactly how I planned to ring in 2012……coughing, wheezing, sneezing and nose blowing.  My drink of choice was Nyquil.

Sigh…………..

It all started late Thursday afternoon with a definate tickle in my chest.  I hoped that taking some cold medicine and getting a little rest would run it off but alas, I woke Friday morning missing my voice and the beginnings of a painful, hacking cough.  It was all downhill from there…..

Our exciting New Year’s Eve?  Edward got  us dinner from Whataburger, we watched movies and drank exactly one cocktail at home. We watched movies and I read books on my Kindle Fire (which is about the most fantastic gift ever!)   I did make it until midnight and he braved the germs to give me a proper kiss but after that it was off to bed.  The good news is that with all the gifts of wine we received and how little we drank the wine chiller is fully stocked again.

New Year’s Day between coughing jags we de-Christmased the house.   I love the Christmas decorations and always miss the pretty lights but it’s also nice to get things back in order and tiday again.  We are pretty militant about when decorations go up (Weekend after Thanksgiving) and when they come down (New Years).  No Christmas lights up after New Year’s here!

Because I was sad that we didn’t get to do anything fun this weekend we did take a drive on the beach on New Year’s afternoon.  The beach was so clean and pretty.  It’s a bummer that in the summer we get all that yucky seaweed but in the winter it’s clean. 

Because of my cough and the cool night air I couldn’t walk with Edward but last night he did more than a mile!  🙂  That had been his goal for all of January.  Now he says he wants to be able to do a half marathon…..I’d better get healthy fast!

I stayed home from work today.  While my cough is getting better (I think) it feels like my head is getting involved.  I have a stuffy nose and a headache to go along with my sore throat and cough.  Ugh.   I packed Edward up and waved him off to his first day back to work in  7 weeks.  I don’t think he was too excited to go……lol.  It’s weird to be in the house all by myself again. 

We have made plans to go back to Ed’s sisters cabin in Hill Country in a couple of weeks!  I can’t wait for Amy Weekend!!!!!!!!!!   This is the perfect time of year for camping, but it sure is nice to have a cabin to stay in instead.  Build in restroom, big screen tv and it doesn’t matter what the weather is.

Ok, time for me to take a nap and try to beat this cold before I use all my sick time for 2012 in the first week.  Have a great week everyone!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

