A “It Feels Like Christmas” Monday

It is Christmas in the heart that puts Christmas in the air.  ~W.T. Ellis

Oh boy does it feel like Christmas outside this morning!  It isn’t brisk or chilly…..it’s downright cold!!!  I wish I could start a fire in the fireplace and stay home curled up under the covers watching movies.    I really, really, really don’t want to go outside in it.

This weekend was kind of a busy one for us.  Saturday I made breakfast and then started to work on getting the Christmas tree decorated.  I always love it when the tree is up.  While I did seriously consider skipping the tree this year I’m glad that Edward insisted we put it up.  The living room looks so nice and festive!

Spooky staked out her sleeping spot under the tree as soon as I got it finished and Mommacat started looking for gifts to dig into.  They will need to wait a little bit for that.  We not only haven’t purchased anything, we haven’t even thought of anything to buy anyone!  But in all honesty, I don’t really care.  I love to give gifts but what I love is having a nice, warm, comfortable home with Edward.  There isn’t anything else that can be put under a tree that would add to that.

Now that Edward is starting to feel a little bit better he has started to get a little cabin fever.  Especially when I have bad work weeks and can’t get home during the day to say hello to him.  He isn’t used to being in one place for so long.

So Saturday afternoon I took him to the barber shop for a haircut.  (A very much needed hair cut……my heavens that man’s hair grows fast!)  He said his head felt 10 lbs  lighter after they finished.  Then we went to CCYFL to watch some of the Superbowl games.  It was super windy but he had fun watching the games and chatting with friends.

After he finished we went to do a little shopping.  World Market was having a wine and food tasting so we tried a few wines and looked at their Christmas items.  We bought a bottle of a chocolate-red wine dessert wine.  I was sceptical about it but it did taste pretty good.  I’m not going to want to drink a lot of it but a small glass will make a nice dessert.

Then we went to tackle the crowd at Hobby Lobby.  Edward has a project he wants to work on so he wanted to pick up a few things.  We got everything he needed so he has something to work on this week.

We walked a lot so he was pretty tired by the time we finished.   So we went home to rest for a few minutes.

Saturday evening we went to some friends house for pizza and to watch the MMA Fights.  Kristina had some surgery on Monday so we are all on ‘lockdown’ but she was ready for company and Edward was ready to talk to people besides me…….lol.  We had a fun evening with some wine and good conversation.

Sunday Edward was pretty worn out.  We had breakfast and he laid down for a nap almost right away and I didn’t see him again until almost 2:30 in the afternoon. He said he couldn’t figure out why he was so sleepy but I reminded him that he did a lot of walking on Saturday and was out in the evening too.  It was nice for me to have a few quiet hours at home too…..I got to take a nap and really relax for a few hours.

I found Mommacat and Rascal napping together in the guest room in the afternoon.  Rascal looks like he is trying to snuggle with Momma, he keeps scootching closer and closer to her!  Then he moved into the ornament box that I had left on the bed. 

Sunday evening we finally completed all of the holiday decorating with the outdoor lights.  THAT was a project……..and I’m glad that it was finished.  We managed to get everything finished before the cold front came through which should have been good news but it was warm so it was a sweaty job.  I had to do all the ladder work and it was quite a workout!  Edward handed me lights and light holders and gave instructions.  Detailed instructions.  🙂

But all the decorating is done!!!!!  Finally!  Tonight we get to ‘Christmas’!!!!!!  🙂  🙂  🙂  🙂

Time to get out the door…..Edward has PT this morning and a hot date this afternoon so I’d better get moving.  Have a great day!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

