Sensational Weekend

Happy Monday everyone!  I hope you had a relaxing weekend with the ones you love.

Edward was out of town for work on Thursday night.  I never enjoy that but we still chat online in the evening and I always get a lot more rest…..lol.  I rolled out of bed about 7:20 Friday morning and still made it work with time to spare.    Edward called me when he got back to town about 3 on Friday afternoon and told me he had a surprise for me.  When I got home I found this in the kitchen:

and this:

My honey had replaced all of the switch plate and outlet covers in the kitchen with apple ones…….awwwwwww!  And we have a lot of switch plates.  They look great!

That night Edward had the clock at John Paul II (Or as they call it…Blessed John Paul II).  I had been on the fence all day about going……it was a long, long week and I was very tired.  But in the end I decided going to the game would be more enjoyable than sitting in the house alone. 

It turned out to be a lovely evening for football and a pretty enjoyable game.  Even is JP2 did lose in a decided victory for San Antonio Christian.  By the time the game was over both Edward and I were starving so we finished up the evening with a late dinner at Jalisco.

Saturday was a gorgeous day, although it was breezy.  I dropped Edward and Zach off at CCYFL and headed to Alice for Lilly’s soccer game.  It’s a 40 mile trip but it’s fun to watch them play.  The weather was perfect, not to warm and I am really glad I went.

I got to the field shortly before the game and when Lilly saw me she came running over yelling…..”AAAAAAAMMMMMYYYYYY”!!!!!!!! and gave me a big hug.  Then she immediately asked if she could come to our house….lol.

Guilianna is fascinated by my apple & snake necklace.  Every time I hold her she instantly grabs it and looks at it and then tried to eat it.  She will do that for as long as I have her.  Saturday she was also interested in pulling my sunglasses off and throwing them……lol.  She really liked it when I held her up over my head and she could grab for them. By the time the game was over I had tiny baby finger prints all over them.

I haven’t been to a game for a couple of weeks and there has been dramatic improvement in the Smurf’s play!  No more crying and everyone has gotten a lot more aggressive about going after the ball.  Lilly even scored a goal!  YAY Lilly!!!!!  But now they are so aggressive about going after the ball that they are fighting with their own team mates to get it.  Baby steps.

Lilly had been promised money if she got a goal and after the game came running over to me saying that she was going to get money!!!  I asked her how much money she was getting and she thought a second and said “5 Dollars!”  Vanessa said she didn’t remember promising her that much and I pointed out that now that Lilly was a star she was trying to renegotiate her contract……..lol.

After the game I took Lilly and everyone else to McDonalds for lunch where Lilly continued to ask if she could come stay at our house. (about a billion times)  I promised her that we would find a weekend when she could come and stay with us.  Maybe in a couple of weeks.  All in all it was a fun day spending time with the girls.

I got home about 2 pm and did a little housework until it was time to pick up Edward at CCYFL and take him to his other, other job.  (Nope, not happy)  Someone there had unexpected company and he agreed to work the evening shift after promising me that we could go out after he was done.  So I went home, did a bit more laundry and went back to get him after the store closed.

We went to Executive Surf Club for dinner and watched a bit of the Rangers/Cardinals game but came home shortly after that.  It had been a long day for Edward (As I knew it would be) and he was worn out.  He fell asleep on the sofa within minutes of us getting home so it was off to bed for some snuggles.

Because I am awesome I even let him sleep in late on Sunday!  Once we were finally out of bed I made coffee, potatoes, pork chops and eggs for breakfast.  Then we relaxed a while at home until it was time to leave on our big afternoon adventure.

It was another outstanding sunny day.  Since it was our day alone together we took a day trip to Port Lavaca to Lavaca Bluffs Vineyard & Winery for a wine tasting.  They are a very young winery on the banks of the Lavaca river.  We were first introduced to their wines at the Refugio Wine Festival in March.

Lavaca Bluffs is in a lovely location and we had a really neat afternoon chatting with Doug and Beth the owners.   Doug gave generous samples of their wines and enjoyed sharing the history of their home, showing us the view from their deck (the picture above is from there) and introducing us to their family of pets.  I’m pretty sure we tried all of their wines and enjoyed every single one of them.  Lucky for me Doug favors sweet wines so he had lots of them.   I even enjoyed the reds that they have!  We picked up a few bottles and can’t wait until the pear and peach wines are ready for purchase.

I hated to leave but we will certainly be going back there at the first opportunity.

On the way home we stopped in Rockport (or Lamar if you want to be picky about it) at Pop’s for a tasty burger and finally got home about 8 pm.  It was a fantastic day and one we dearly needed.  Time alone together is a precious gift and one that I don’t ever take for granted.

A sensational weekend all the way around.

But now it’s Monday and time to get back to work.  It will be another busy week, although I think a bit less chaotic than last week.  I”m hoping that it flies by……we leave Friday afternoon for a weekend in Hill Country.  We will get to enjoy some cooler weather, look at the pretty leaves on the trees and drink some of our new bottles of wine on the deck.  I can’t wait!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Have a great Monday everyone!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

