The Weekend Is Dawning!

God gave me you for the ups and downs
God gave me you for the days of doubt
For when I think I’ve lost my way
There are no words here left to say, it’s true
God gave me you

And for us it dawned with rain!

At 5 am this morning we were wrenched from a sound sleep by a strange noise.  At almost the same instant Edward and I both said ‘It’s Raining”!!!!!!!!!!  That was a wonderful surprise.  We laid in bed and listened to the brief shower and finally dozed back off.  We got 1/10th of an inch at our house and our grass is finally a little happy.

It is still a hot one out there today but a little bit cooler than it has been recently.  Edward swears the first two weeks of September are always the hottest of the year for us and now that they are past maybe cooler weather will follow.  And by ‘cooler’ I mean in the 80’s…….lol.  But today we are only supposed to get up to around 94.

One night this week we woke up to find both MommaCat & Spooky in bed with us.   Spooky only sleeps with us when the weather is very, very cold so this was unusual.  I guess she is practicing for winter too!  Rascal is growing in his winter coat, mane and all!

Last evening we met a group of friends for dinner in Aransas Pass.  It has been a while since we have been out with the group and it was a pleasant change to the evening routine.  Lots of laughter and toooooo much food too eat.  Plus, since it was only 90 when we left the house I pulled on a pair of capri’s that hadn’t seen the light of day since sometime in early June.

On the way home we went across to Port A on the ferry.  Pretty night for a drive even though the moon didn’t come out until we were almost at the house.  It is getting dark so early that we didn’t go to the beach this week so going out to dinner was a nice break in the routine.

So Pop Warner football season kicks off tomorrow.

Could everyone hear me say ‘YAY’?  No? Oh…..welll that might be because I’m not excited about it. Of course I haven’t been excited about it for about 6 years now.  One would think I would get used to this schedule at some point or at least stop complaining about it.  One would be wrong.

Anyway………..Football is going to dominate a good part of Edward’s week and weekends for the next couple of months.  It gives me plenty of time to get all my errands done at least and I might actually get ahead of the housework.  (Hey, a girl can dream!)

If there is a towel on the bathroom counter Spooky thinks it is automatically for her to sleep on.

So that’s about all that is on the schedule for the weekend.  We do get to sleep in each day and I’m looking forward to that.  (It’s the little things that make me happy…….lol)

Ok, time to get out the door and wrap up today.  The weekend awaits!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

