Today I Am Going To Moan & Complain

Heat, ma’am! it was so dreadful here, that I found there was nothing left for it but to take off my flesh and sit in my bones.
— Sydney Smith

IT”S FREAKING HOT!!!!!!!!

It’s official.  I’m through with this heat.  Over it.  Getting pretty bitchy about it.  I want to be freezing cold snuggled under blankets while it ice storms outside.  I want there to be a blizzard so I can snuggle in bed with my honey.  I want it to pour down cold rain for a week so I can snuggle on the sofa and watch movies.  (Sensing a theme????)

The only thing I really love about summer is getting to go to the beach and on days when we can’t do that the heat is useless to me.  The only thing it is good for making me sweat (which I really hate to do).  I got into the truck yesterday afternoon and the temperature said 106.  106?????  Good lord please make it rain!

Plus after I workout I always, always, always end up with a headache which sucks.  I swear on all that is holy I am going to get a treadmill or we are investing in a membership to a gym because walking in this heat is NOT FUN.

This cartoon did make me giggle though……………………

That is exactly what I feel like when I walk back into the house after my workout.

This heat has me harking back to my childhood.  Laying in front of a fan trying to keep cool, playing under the trees, putting laundry on the line, swimming in the lake and my first experience with alcohol.  Each year when the dog days of summer arrived my tea totaler mother would make a generous batch of vodka slushes.  Orange juice, lemonade, sugar  and vodka frozen until slush like.  Then put a couple of scoops into a glass and top with lemon lime soda.

HEAVEN!

When I was probably 9 or 10 I remember sneaking them out of the fridge because they were so yummy and you couldn’t taste the alcohol at all!  And getting caught doing it.

Even now when I visit my mom in the summer in the afternoon we always have a vodka slush.  Now, I don’t think you could get drunk on them in 100 years but they sure are a great summer treat. And in a happy coincidence we happen to have a couple of bottles of vodka who aren’t doing anything right now!  I think I’m going to whip up a batch today……Mmmmmmmmmmmm.

Now if I could just find a re-run of Match Game it would be like my childhood all over again!

Recipe:  http://wp.me/PR9MK-1hj

Have a great hump day and stay cool!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

