Amazing Anniversary Weekend!

I don’t know how you do what you do
I’m so in love with you
It just keeps
getting better

I wanna spend the rest of my life
With you by my
side
Forever and ever

Every little thing that you do
Baby, I’m
amazed by you

Happy Monday everyone!  I hope you had a great weekend!

We spent the anniversary weekend in San Antonio with my best friend from high school Molly and her husband Larry.  (MommaCat planted herself in the suitcase when we were trying to pack and said we weren’t going anyplace without her!!!)  It had been five years since I saw them live and in person so it was a long over due visit.  It’s so exciting that they have moved to Dallas and at least are in the same state that we are!  This was Edward’s first time to meet them as well…….he said Molly and I were twins.  (Ahh-Vahh…….I have no idea what he is talking about)

We got to San Antonio about 2 pm and meet Molly & Larry at the bar at Mi Tierra which was just a few blocks from out hotel.  The margaritas and conversation were flowing…………..

(Not to change the subject for I just want to make it clear that it is MUCH hotter in San Antonio than it is here in the coastal bend, sea breeze and all that stuff.  My God was it toasty!  I mean surface of the sun hot.  Make us select our next bar based on how good the AC was and how far from the door we could sit hot.

Especially when you went down the stairs to the RiverWalk.  My tourist hint is to avoid San Antonio in the summer and go instead between November and April.  I’m especially fond of December when it’s all pretty for Christmas and most of the annoying tourists are gone.   Because tourists are annoying.  Well, not me but other people.)

Edward has a couple of beer-ita’s and pronounced them very good and high in alcohol content!  I stuck to the regular margaritas which were delish! We caught up, talked about our kids (the four-legged and the two-legged ones) and had a blast.  Lol…..  After Mi Terra we went to the Gunter hotel and had several cocktails in their bar and eventually went to the RiverWalk to continue the evenings festivities.  (Finally eating real food about 10 pm)

Also?  No one fell in the river or sprained anything which is not only good news but a little shocking.  (And I didn’t have to take off my shoes and walk barefoot because my feet hurt which I could have done but didn’t)

We finished the evening at the Q Bar in the Hilton which was a great quiet place to have a couple of glasses of wine while relaxing in soft chairs and resting my ever so sore and tired tootsies.  (Oh and my puffy ankles, apparently salt + heat + super adorable heeled sandles + lots of walking = super swollen ankles)  We had a blast with so much laughter and I think Edward gained a much deeper understanding of my ‘roots’.

Sunday was Edward’s and my sixth anniversary and it was so nice to wake up in his arm in the city where it all started.  We even drove by the hotel where we met ‘live & in person’ for the first time.  And where he grabbed me in his arms and kissed me until I couldn’t breathe anymore…….lol.

We met Molly and Larry for breakfast at Mi Tierra before they had to start the drive back to Dallas and that place was PACKED with people.  It’s a lot more enjoyable in the winter when the crowds are lighter but we still enjoyed it and had a delicious breakfast.  After we said our good-byes Edward and I spent some time a walking around El Mercado holding hands just like we did six years ago. 

Once we had looked at everything there we (as my special anniversary gift to Edward) went to Bass Pro Shop and spent something like 10 hours looking at everything (and I mean everything) they had there.  Did you know there have aisles of stuff to cure meat with?  They do.

We ran into a pretty decent thunderstorm on the way out-of-town and even that was like a treat, it’s been so long since we have seen rain!

Because I love Edward so much I drove most of the way back home so he could rest a little.  He says he didn’t sleep but I heard him snoring…..lol.  We got back to Corpus in time for a romantic dinner before going to the house to see our very annoyed kitties who didn’t seem to appreciate that it was our anniversary and that we deserved a weekend away.

It’s sad that our anniversary weekend is over and we have to get back to normal life.  😦  We may seriously celebrate one day a year but every single day together is a joy and a blessing.  No matter where we are, no matter what we are doing, good time and tough times, as long as we are together we have everything that we need.   We are blessed to have a love like this.

Tonight we are going to the Hooks game with some friends so that’s something to look forward too!  Have a great Monday!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

