Happy Wednesday!

What is one to say about June, the time of perfect young summer, the fulfillment of the promise of the earlier months, and with as yet no sign to remind one that its fresh young beauty will ever fade.  ~Gertrude Jekyll


Summer has arrived in all it’s glory and by glory I mean heat.  Even at dawn walks are sweaty affairs but the sunrises are always lovely.  School is finished for the summer so I have a lot more flexibility as to when I walk and it’s much quieter.  Watching the sky brighten with every step and listening to the birds sing is one of my favorite ways to start the day. 

(My other favorite way to start the day is sleeping in late and snuggling with my honey but sadly walking has to take priority the rest of this month for sure.)

So, whats been going on this week………..nothing too exciting…………Monday night Edward and I went to the Hooks game and Derrick and Amanda went with us.  🙂  Since they live in California I haven’t gotten to know them well so it was a good opportunity to get better acquainted.


The weather was warm and almost a perfect night for baseball.  We had a drink at the Cotton Club before hand and then went down to our seats.  Great game, good conversation, pretty sunset, we got to be on the fan cam, extras innings and  free tacos from Stripes!  Yay!!!

The Hooks have finished this home stand and won’t be back until Edward’s birthday next week and we will be there.  It’s the annual baseball night for the ‘krew’ and should be fun.  Lord have mercy on any normal people who end up sitting by us.

Tuesday night our air conditioning unit stopped working……..yes AGAIN.  (Almost one year to the day of when it died the last time.)  It was a hot evening until the repairman got here and fixed us all up.   Thank goodness we still have the window unit installed in the bedroom after we remembered how to turn it on (THAT was a comedy of errors on Tuesday night).  So we had to decline a dinner invitation to a family dinner and instead stayed home and had shrimp and drank a bottle of wine.  We hadn’t done that in a long time.  A nice way to spend an evening if I say so myself.

I’m in the middle of a learning curve trying to figure out how to work my new phone.  Holy cow!  Edward assures me that I will adjust to the touchpad keyboard but at the moment I am really missing my blackberry.  Sure it was slow, the internet worked like crap and I didn’t have any decent apps on it but it sure was easy to type a text or an IM. 

 I like all the other features on the new phone, I’ve downloaded a ton of apps (Angry Birds anyone?)  and it has a much nicer camera but typing a text takes me hours.  Ok, not quite hours but it sure seems like it.  I have threatened to throw it out the window more than once.  Thank goodness everyone I am texting can decipher what I am trying to say…….lol.  I’ve only gotten a couple “HUH?” texts in reply. 

No definite plans for tonight, just praying that the a/c is still working when we get home.  😉 Have a good hump day!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

