Happy, Content Weekends

“A child needs a grandparent, anybodies grandparent,
to grow a little more securely into an unfamiliar
world.”– Charles and Ann Morse

Happy Monday!

We had a lovely weekend in South Texas with low humidity and pretty skies.  After all of the wind that we have had recently (oh, say for the past three months) it was a pleasant break. We even had some nice sunsets.

The sunrise on Saturday morning was especially pretty.  I know this because I was awake, showered and already making pancakes by that time…….lol.  Lilly and Guilianna arrived around 5:30 am and to my shock (and dismay) they were both bright eyed and bushy tailed.  Guilianna was especially happy and grinning from ear to ear.   Lilly wanted to start playing immediately and asked when we could go to the park…..lol.   I kept them quiet for a few hours until Edward decided it was time for him to get up.

We had pancakes & bacon (With Lilly helping to cook of course) and Edward took his kayak out for a test run.  He had a great morning for it!  While he did that I played with the girls.  It was actually easier than I thought it would be.  Lilly was a little disappointed that we couldn’t bake anything (I wasn’t sure I was a good enough multi-tasker for that) but she adjusted. Guilianna is such a happy baby and is holding her head up so much better even though she still looks like a little bobble head from time to time…..lol. 

We had a lot of fun and eventually I got Lilly to sit still long enough (1 minute) so she could fall asleep.  Guilianna fell asleep about that same time so I left Lilly on the sofa and Guilianna on our bed instead of her crib.  It was a nice quiet few hours while everyone (including me) rested up. 

I really liked watching Edward have a tea party with Lillyanna and the new tea set I got her (Since I had to buy a travel crib and other toys for Guilianna I wanted to make sure she had something new too)……she served him “fart tea’…….lol.  The tea set was a huge hit!  She also helped him clean up the kayak after her got home from the aptly named ‘shakedown cruise’.

Late in the afternoon I took the girls to the park for a little recreation.  The weather was perfect and Lilly made new friends (I know….shocking…..lol) while I entertained Guilianna on the bench.  It was a great day.  After 8 pm Mom & Grandma came to pick them up and and we said a sad fairwell.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We are blessed to have the grandkids so close and get to spend time with them.  I will say that it used to feel like Lilly weighed nothing when I’d pick her up but now after carrying Guilianna she feels like she weighs a ton…..lol.  I hope we get to do it again sometime soon!

After everyone was gone we were too tired to go anyplace so we had a couple of cocktails and watched a movie at home before bed.

Sunday Edward woke me up early so we could go fishing but then he decided it was a bit too chilly.  So, instead we went to breakfast and decided we would go to the beach later in the day.  Only problem was while we were inside the restaurant a bank of clouds rolled in with it quite a bit of rain to the south of us.  Looks like we weren’t supposed to go the beach! 

Instead I got new flowers to plant out front of the house…..finally.  There hasn’t been time to do it recently but  I got it done. Now I need to add watering plants to my morning routine.  Each year I over buy flowers and end up purchasing additional planters to accommodate them.  That is how our pots have grown from two to four over the years.  But this year I bought exactly the right amount of plants and they look marvelous. 

Later we went to see the movie “Bridesmaids”. Oh my!  I haven’t laughed that much at a movie in a long, long time.  I rank it up there with “The Hangover” and “SuperBad”  as to the amount of humor in it.  What I really loved was that it was a story about women and starred women and it was really amusing.  It was also heart warming.   Two thumbs wayyyyy up for “Bridesmaids”. 

With a quick stop at the grocery story we came home and I made shrimp, chicken and veggie kabobs along with yellow rice for dinner.  One of my favorite meals currently. 

My body did not want to get out of bed when the alarm went off at 5:30 today.  My back seemed extra sorel and I had to argue with myself to get the walk over with.  It was a great morning for my walk today……absolutely wonderful.  The was still a gentle north breeze and it felt great.  The birds were singing and the sunrise was pretty.  My back loosened up and my legs felt strong.   I haven’t walked since last week and it was good to get back out there and moving.

The next two weeks are going to be pretty busy for us while we get ready for a Garner trip and graduation.  Oh and my birthday!  🙂  We have lots of stuff to get done and organized but we will get it all done.  Tonight is a baseball night!  We are going to see the Hooks play at Whataburger Field.  🙂  Should be a nice night for some baseball! 

Have a happy Monday.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

