Bone Chilling Thursday!!

Time for the weather report. It’s cold out folks. Bonecrushing cold. The kind of cold which will wrench the spirit out of a young man, or forge it into steel. Northern Exposure, Lost and Found, 1992Brrrrrr…….it’s a frosty one out there this morning!  Doesn’t look promising for any outdoor exercise thats for sure!  But the sunrise was lovely this morning.  Warmer days are coming they say, hopefully soon.

It has been a couple of long days at our home.  Poor Edward has been ill since Monday and is feeling pretty awful.  He has finally decided that it is time to go see the doctor today and maybe get some medicine.  I do hope he starts to feel better soon.

Then Rascal came in for the evening and was suddenly acting odd.  He had spent all afternoon sleeping inside and was fine but by 9 pm wasn’t fine.  I started to inspect him to figure out what the problem was because the last time he was crying like this he had gotten some nasty sticker burrs stuck in him.  When I got to his back end suddenly something exploded all over my hand and I knew….he had another abscess.

I got him fully wrapped up in a towel so I could make sure that things were fully flowing and Rascal didn’t like it at all.  I’m sporting the above pictured bruises on my arms from where he bit me through a towel and a heavy sweatshirt.

To add to the fun the Girls have to be right there helping when Rascal is hurt batting at him and trying to jump on him like he is a wounded gazelle. He doesn’t appreciate it and I don’t appreciate their help.

Interesting note:  The puss from an abscess smells awful and even if you wash your hands 10 times you can still smell it.  Yuckkkkkkkkkk!

The good news is that cats always start to feel better as soon as the abscess bursts and I had left over antibiotics from last year so I could get him started right away.  He slept a lot last night and this morning I could finally see the wound.  It’s in a strange spot and we will have to keep a close eye on it.  He may still need to go see the vet, rabies needs to be updated and we might need more antibiotics but we are hoping not.

So last night was a blur of coughing, moaning, cats crying, MommaCat making noise just to be annoying……..I’m pretty worn out this morning.  The only cat I like today is Spooky, she never wakes us up at night.  She just curls up on the sofa or in her basket and sleeps until we get up.

My appointment for this morning cancelled because of illness……not a bad thing in my opinion so after I get Edward home from the Dr I am taking a nap!!!!!

Here is hoping you (and I) stay healthy!  Happy Thursday!

 

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Bone Chilling Thursday!!

  1. Kicky

    Oh my. What a day. Rascal is soooo sorry. I bet he is going to get you a HUGE wonderful present for Valentine’s Day!

    Hugs to Ed for quick healing…

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

