Our New Toy

“August rushes by like desert rainfall,
A flood of frenzied upheaval,
Expected,
But still catching me unprepared.
Like a matchflame
Bursting on the scene,
Heat and haze of crimson sunsets.
Like a dream
Of moon and dark barely recalled,
A moment,
Shadows caught in a blink.
Like a quick kiss;
One wishes for more
But it suddenly turns to leave,
Dragging summer away.”
–  Elizabeth Maua Taylor 

I know this will come as no surprise but I enjoy taking pictures and take lots of them.  For the past 4 years I have used an ever-faithful Kodak Easy Share camera.  It has served us well.

Sure it has some issues…..when you try to focus on something close up it is a crap shoot as to if the picture will be clear or a blurry mess.  If you use the zoom I can guarantee the picture will be a bit fuzzy.  And the recovery time between shots is longer than I like.  But I still like the camera.  Sadly over the past couple of months the picture display on the back began to slowly go out.  (I’m sure this has nothing at all to do with the fact that I keep it 80% of the time tossed in my purse in case I want to take a quick picture.)

This weekend Edward and I began to look more seriously for a replacement camera and this was the winner!!!! Canon Powershot SX120 has a large lense and a 3″ display on the back.   I have only had it a couple of days but am nothing but impressed at it’s ease of use and fantastic picture quality.  I have taken super close up’s and zoom pictures and so far haven’t gotten a blurry or fuzzy one yet. 

I took this picture through the window of the living room across the street

This is the potted plant in front of their house across the street. Awesome zoom!

I’m thrilled!!  🙂  I will still keep the Kodak in my purse of shots during the day but now we have a great camera for our vacation! 

We had a nice weekend although we didn’t do anything particularlly exciting.  Friday evening our plans cancelled and I  can’t say I was terribly disappointed.  Both Edward and I were tired from the week and so instead of entertaining we went to a late dinner at Padre Island Burger Company.  They have awesome burgers and good cocktails too.   I have discovered sweet potato fries fairly recently and they have those as well.

Saturday was a lazy day. I had to go work a booth at a Diabetes Conference in the early morning for a couple of hours but I was home just a few minutes after Edward woke up.  We talked about going to the beach…….well, until we remembered that we didn’t have the truck.  So after that we voted for hanging out at home.  In the afternoon we went to Sam’s Club where we bought groceries and the camera we had decided on and went home. 

Some old friends, Wayne & Mala came over in the evening for dinner.  Edward grilled ribs and we served them with a garden salad.  We hadn’t found time to get together with them in several months so it was nice to catch up. We had to stay at the house since Edward’s son was on his way back from Garner with our popup so we had to be at the hosue when he arrived.  Passing the time with a few bottles of wine made the evening fly by.   They finally got here after 11 pm so Edward could finally relax a little bit.

Sunday morning I finally got to sleep in. YAY!!!!!  I can’t begin to tell you how good it felt to get some sleep.  Then I made pancakes and cleaned up.  Since I had dusted and mopped before Wayne & Mala came over so outside of laundry there wasn’t a lot of extra work to do.  I even took an little nap in the afternoon which was very nice. 

Rascal lounging on the sofa during the hot afternoon

 The remainer of Ed’s family made it safely home from Garner Sunday afternoon so now the countdown is officially on for our visit!  This morning the weather felt almost cool when I stepped outside.  Maybe cooler weather will arrive sometime?

Have a great Monday!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

